Sometimes I complain about being sick…

I’m sick. I hate being sick. Who doesn’t? It’s the worst. And what’s worse is that I feel like I have three sicknesses at the same time.

On the morning of my choir concert, I woke up with a sore throat. It wasn’t that bad. We had an early morning practice that lasted one hour, then at the end of the day we had our class, which is an hour and a half, and then we had to stay after school for another hour. All of this time was spent singing. Not to mention the time we sang at the actual concert. I was singing as loud as I could, because even on the day of our concert, some of the sopranos don’t know what they’re doing…

The next morning, my throat hurt a lot worse than it did the day previous, but it wasn’t bad enough to really complain. But when I talked, my voice cracked sometimes. I thought it was funny, and so did my friends, so I talked a lot that day. Big mistake. The day after that, my voice was worse. I could still talk, but it was quieter and it cracked a lot more. This was the first day I could not sing. I tried so hard, but my voice would not let me. It made me really mad. The day after that, my voice got worse. And yesterday, my throat hurt more than ever. I could hardly speak at all. I avoided making any noises. I mimed my way through lunch with my friends. They thought it was funny, but I was actually really frustrated. After school I got my voice back. What do ya know? I still couldn’t sing, as much as I tried.

This morning was the worst. I woke up with my throat burning and my nose was super stuffy. Before the only problem I’d had was with my throat, now all the sudden my nose? Fantastic. Well I got up to take a shower, a really long hot shower. As I was getting ready, I felt nauseous. Sure enough. I threw up. Twice. Throwing up is my weakness. I hate it more than anything. It is only thing that will keep me away from school… So here I am sitting at home. And guess what? Today is a blue day… The day I have all of my honors classes. Blast. I hate being behind in school. This is actually the first day I’ve missed. On the last week of school, c’mon! When I have so much to do! Taking a day off is not what I was planning on. Bleh. I get so angry at myself for missing school…

Hopefully tomorrow I will be better. I’m done with being sick. Since the first signs of my sore throat, it’s gotten worse by each day. What will happen tomorrow? Hopefully the opposite. I want to get better! I want to be able to sing… I guess I take my voice for granted. I’ve never lost my voice entirely. But now that I have, I know that it sure is a pain. What on earth would I do if I couldn’t talk for the rest of my life? I can’t even think about what I would do without being able to sing. Singing is like, everything. It’s been killing me that I can’t sing. It’s horrible.

Well I think I’ll go take a nap now… Bye.

Leave a Reply

