To a friend…

B.

I am so sorry about everything you’re going through. Being a teenager is tough enough, and then being forced into all those things that you don’t want to do… I can see how overwhelming that would be. I really am sorry. I’m sorry that I’m not that much comfort, and that the other night I didn’t know what to say to make you feel better. Sorry just doesn’t cut it. But it hurts me to see you hurt. I don’t want any of my friends to feel like that… I guess I’m writing this letter to tell you that I am here. I know that I may not be the person you’d want to confide in and tell everything to, but I am here if you want that person to be me. I’m willing to help, and really, if you need anything, I will be there. Even if it’s as simple as a plate of cookies, or even just a hug. To me you are one of my best friends, and I hope that feeling is mutual between us. I love you so much. I don’t want you to be sad, I want you to be happy! So, please… if there is anything I can do…

Yeah, I do realize that I’m kind of crazy and probably not the best at giving advice. I’m not perfect. And like you said the other night, I probably won’t understand a lot of what’s going on with you and your mom. Honestly, all I’m good for as an imperfect human being is a shoulder to cry on and an ear to listen, and that’s for any time you need that. But there is someone who understands everything. Have you talked to Him? He knows exactly what you’re going through, because He’s been through it all. John 16:33 says, “In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” Have you ever thought about what that means? I think it means that yeah, life is gonna stink sometimes and you’ll go through hard times, but… compared to what Christ has gone through, it’s so little. What’s so reassuring is that He cares about everything we go through, no matter how small of a task it is. So don’t worry, because if you let Him, He will be with you every step of the way. And you will be able to get through anything. Nothing is impossible with the Lord by your side. I don’t even know how hard this is that you’re going through, but He does. He understands. And He wants to help you, just like I do.

You are beautiful and amazing and talented in so many ways. I’m so grateful that you are my friend. You are such a strength to me, and you have no idea how much you’ve done for this these past few months. Maybe this letter helped you, maybe not. If anything I hope it is a call to action to turn to your Savior. He loves you… And please, please remember that I am always here for you. Just a phone-call, a text, or a couple blocks away.

I love you so much.

Love,

Me

Leave a Reply

