Choose the Right!

Here’s a question I’ve been thinking about a lot recently: Is there ever a good excuse to do something you shouldn’t?

Well… Is there? I guess that’s what I want to write about. I don’t think there are any good excuses for doing something wrong. Even if it is a little thing. And no one is the exception… When you know what the rules are, you should know what you should and shouldn’t do, right?

Step up and take the blame that you know you messed up. Don’t come up with dumb excuses. I guess I learned that the hard way… I’ve made a lot of mistakes… Specifically one where I didn’t necessarily come up with an excuse for myself, but my actions showed that I thought I was the exception to rules I knew I should have followed. That’s probably why it bugs me so much when I see my friends and other people around me do some of the things that I have personally seen that are not good. We shouldn’t make stupid decisions anyway! We know we won’t benefit from them. It’s selfish really, thinking of only the moment we’re in, and not the future things it might affect, forgetting what’s most important. I don’t want to hear, “it’s cute and we’re not doing anything extreme” when someone tells me about holding hands with another person when they’re not even old enough to date. I don’t want to hear, “that class is so boring, we don’t do any work in there anyway” when someone tells me about how they sluffed 6th period. Think about it. There is never a good excuse to do something you shouldn’t. You may be reading this and think I’m being rude or strict, but I’m just trying to point out that some things us teenage kids do are stupid. Think about what’s better than what you’re doing; think about what’s best. Holding that kid’s hand isn’t going to do anything for you, and it won’t last anyway, so why even do it? And going to class really isn’t that bad, it’s easier than sluffing, plus you don’t have to make up any work if you just go. Even if the class is boring and you don’t do anything, sluffing will ruin your citizenship grade, and you can’t graduate with that, unless you fix it by going to Saturday School. I don’t know about you, but that’s way too much work.

Life will be easier for you if you make good choices, I promise. It will prevent a lot of heartbreak, and a lot of getting into trouble. Just do what is right. You’ve got it in you. Remember, if you don’t want anyone to find out, don’t do it. Simple as that.

And there’s my rant for today. The end.

Leave a Reply

