Choose Happiness

So a few months ago I had a problem. I wasn’t very happy.

Let me explain… It tends to be really hard for me to let things go. Things that have made me upset or sad. I just have a really hard time getting over those things. But once I finally do get over whatever it is that I can’t stop worrying and thinking about, I feel better. And I look back and think, now why was that such a big deal? Yeah, I do make a big deal out of many things. I worry too much, and I over-think things that don’t really need to be thought about. At the beginning of the school year, all I did was worry and regret. For the most part, I didn’t try to be happy. I didn’t want to forget the bad things… I was miserable.

But I recently have found the solution I needed. And that solution is me.

Over these past few months of my sophomore year in high school, I have come to realize that it really is my own choice as to whether I want to be happy or not. I’ve realized that I am so blessed. I have so many great things in my life. And my friends… my friends are the greatest people in the world. I couldn’t ask for anything better. They are shining examples to me, and all of them make me want to be a better person. With the help of those friends, and with the gospel and my family, I’ve decided to choose to let go of all those stupid little things, and move forward into a happier me. I am so happy. Turns out this school year is not the worst, but one of the best. And I am so grateful.

There will always be problems in my life—some a lot more serious than others—but if I can face them with faith and an attitude that everything will be alright, then I will most definitely be able to get through any trial that is thrown at me. I will always have struggles, and I will fall down sometimes. But I know that I am not alone. My family and friends are there for me. What’s even better is my Heavenly Father and my Savior are there as well. How blessed I am to know that I always have someone by my side, pulling me up.

I am so grateful for my knowledge of the gospel, for my amazing friends, and for my family. I wish everyone could feel the way I do. I am choosing to be happy, because I want to be. It’s as simple as that. Now I hope whoever is reading this can choose happiness too.

:)

Leave a Reply

