The Last Week

When you’re little, there are things you never think you’ll ever reach (and I’m not talking about the cookie jar up on the counter). You never think you’ll ever be as old as the big sixth graders. Becoming one of the high school show choir kids that sing around town every Christmas? Impossible. Thoughts of driving, of dating, of getting old enough to move out and not be with Mom & Dad anymore, all unbelievable. Incomprehensible.

Then suddenly you’re there. You realize that sixth graders aren’t really that big. Show Choir isn’t as wonderful as you dreamed it would be. You drive (in fact you love it), you definitely date, and you moved out. And your freshman year of college, which seemed so far away even in high school, has already flown by and is nearing its end. Only three more days until it’s time to pack up and leave again.

Isn’t it crazy how fast time goes by?

This first year of college has changed me. It really has. I’ll be honest, I didn’t really want to go, but gosh, it’s helped me see everything in a different and new light. Looking back I laugh at the Old Abbey that was dreading coming to Ephraim. Little did she know that she was about to have the best ride of her life thus far. She wasn’t able to comprehend that she would lose so much but gain so much more, and what she would gain would be better than what she had before moving out of her familiar home.

Not all, but some friendships from home have crashed & burned (Taylor calls it the High School Friend Fall-Out). I’ve learned that honesty is key for any happy relationship, that girlfriends/boyfriends totally kill any meaning of the term “best friends”, that forgiveness helps lighten loads, that our God above loves us and is by our sides no matter what, that my family are my greatest friends and confidants. Even friendships from here in Ephraim haven’t turned out. That has taught me that God puts people in our lives to teach us lessons and sometimes, they aren’t meant to stay, and that’s okay, because there are better things ahead. Much better.

[I can’t write this and not mention that my family got me through so much throughout these past few months, even from miles away. Our #MorrisonFam group chat is something I am so grateful for. My family is my everything, and always will be.]

This last semester was the pinnacle of my time here at Snow. My sister became my greatest friend, and with that, her friends became mine as well. Never before in my life have I felt such genuine love from so many people all at once that weren’t family. These friends I have here aren’t my friends only because I have something to offer. These friends I have don’t use me, don’t ask favors and never return them. These friends love to be with me and treat me right. I’ve never been more blessed and more happy.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

It’s been a bumpy ride, but these people have made it totally worth it. We had the best weekends together, so much fun in the library at night “studying”, so many laughs. I’m seriously so proud to call each and every one of these kids my best friends. I am forever grateful for the experience at Snow College and the people I am able to end it with this year.

It’s a little bittersweet, thinking that after this week, we will all go our separate ways for the summer (or longer). We’ll go from seeing each other every single day to maybe two or three times during the next three months, if we’re lucky. Never ever ever in my life did I ever think that I would love college this much and actually be afraid to leave it. I’m going to miss Ephraim a lot…

I’m thankful for Kels, who took me under her wing and was my friend and my sister. I’m thankful for Elysa, for the times she laid in bed with me while I cried, and for everything else. I’m thankful for Aneisa, my bestie and favorite person to laugh with. I’m thankful for Madeline, who helped me survive my music classes with an almost-positive attitude. ;) I’m thankful for Josh, for his strength and example and all that he has taught me about love and joy. I’m thankful for Geoff, who helped me learn how to say no (haha). I’m thankful for Leedan, the most thoughtful human being to ever walk this earth. I’m thankful for Tyler and his laugh. I’m thankful for Kyle’s hugs and his constant friendship. I’m thankful for Michael because he thinks I’m really funny. I’m thankful that I got to have Kenzie as my roommate for a semester and see her off as she went to France for her mission. I’m thankful for the cuties that have called me every now and then to tell me about their lives. I’m thankful for all of these people and so many more, I can’t even count all the people here in Ephraim that have made me smile.

Life is good.

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I’ll never forget what I could never imagine as a little girl: my first year at Snow College.

Leave a Reply

